Womens Trophy

Womens Trophy - Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup

Daphne Akhurst Memorial CupThe womens trophy is named after Daphne Akhurst who won the womens singles title here five times and also won nine doubles titles. She stands third only to Margaret Court with eleven wins and Nancy Wynne Bolton, who won the title six times. Sadly Daphne died of an ectopic pregnancy in 1933, aged only 29 years old and the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup was created in her honour and has been the trophy the ladies play for ever since.

Daphne was inducted into the Australian Tennis Betting hall of Fame in 2006 and each winner of the tournament in the modern era collects the trophy in her name. Last year we saw Serena Williams lift the trophy in Melbourne but she will not be back to defend as she has picked up an injury.