Roll Of Honour

Australian Open Roll of Honour

Australian Open Tennis HistoryThe Australian Open, as one would expect has been won by some of the greatest names in tennis. There are however some notable missing names who never got thier hands on the trophy. Players like, John McEnroe, Bjorn Borg for instance in the mens and Venus Williams and Kim Clijsters in the ladies. Of the current crop of players, Roger Federer has won it four times in 2004, 2006, 2007  and 2010, and will be the player to beat this year. Before the Federer era, Andre Aggasi won it four times between 1995-2003 and Pete Sampras was twice a winner in 1994 and 1997. Perhaps one of the most incredible achievementgs was that of Ken Rosewall, the Australian maestro won it four times in 1953, 1955 and then incredibly nearly 20 years later he won it twice more in 1971 and 1972. Rod Laver, still regarded by many as the greatest Tournament player ever won it three times but missed the Tournament for several years in the 60s.

Australian Open BettingThe womens Tournament tennis betting was once dominated by the fantastic Australian Margaret Court (nee Smith) who won it an incredible eleven times between 1960 and 1973.The other notable Australian multiple winner, was Yvonne Goolagong, who won four times, as did German, Steffi Graf and Ameriacn, Monica Seles. Serena Williams who will be seeded high again this year has won it four times, but outside of her, the title in recent years has tended to change hands; we have had six different winners since 2000. The curent mens Champion is Roger Federer while the Ladies Champion is Serena Williams.

Recent Men's Australian Open Champions

Recent Women's Australian Open Champions